CB 550 Caferacer "Betty"

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

CB 550 Caferacer "Betty"

Post  Oette91 on Tue 17 May - 1:38

Hi,

unfortunately I found this forum not before today, so I just copy and paste the content of my already posted posts on my blog.
It would be too much work to retype it, so please excuse this.

The whole build is documented on my blog, too:

http://cb550cafeit.blogspot.com/

Some facts about me:
I am a 20-year-old student (studying Electrical Engineering) and at the same time a trainee for plant mechanics.
Well, enough of that. Here are some facts about my project.
After a short period of time i began to search for an old motorcycle which did not have to be comlete or running at all, because i was about to change it either way.

On Friday 18th March 2011 I inspected an old CB 550 Four about 25 miles from here.
You can't imagine just with words, so I uploaded some photos for you:

Well, it is not complete, but the most parts are convenient or perfectly o.k. Here are some detailed shots:

All in all:

-front wheel and rim are perfectly o.k. (chrome is shiny)
-rear wheel and rim are convenient (the chain added scratches to the rim's side)
-brakes are as good as new
-front and rear fenders are super
-fork o.k.
-tachometer o.k.
-swingarm super
-stands o.k.
-chainguard perfectly o.k.
-shock absorbers o.k
-frame o.k.
-wiring harness super

Fuel tank, tachometer and saddle will not be used, because they are going to be changed, too.

There was a Suzuki GS 550 E available for nearly 1000$ but in a quite bad condition.
Moreover, my family owns a nearly complete engine, another frame and many, in some cases new, spare parts.

Today i got an offer for an complete running engine for about 320$, but let's see what the next days will bring.

Last edited by Oette91 on Thu 19 May - 2:50; edited 2 times in total

Oette91
Novice Racer

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: CB 550 Caferacer "Betty"